It’s the Little Things

Hooray, it’s Friday!

It’s been a good week! I was in a serious funk last month but I’ve been feeling more and more like myself with each week that passes. Hallelujah for that!

I want to take a moment and talk about what has been on my mind the past day or so, and that is: The Little Things. Two seemingly small but sweet things happened yesterday that made me realize yet again that it really is the small things that make life worth living (and just make life, in general… without the small things, what would life even be?) Here are the two things that went down:

  1. Jen (check out her blog if you’re into helping others!) and I were leaving Panera when a man held the door for us and told us to have a nice day. It sounds so silly typing that out, almost like that shouldn’t be a big deal. But he said it in such a genuine way, you knew it wasn’t just an afterthought or empty words. A lot of people hold doors and a lot of people tell someone else to have a nice day, but it is pretty rare to have both happen at once. A small act, but touching nonetheless.
  2. During my run yesterday evening I passed another runner, an older woman, a few times. Each time we passed each other she smiled genuinely and she even gave me a “thumbs up” sign once! I’m not judging people who don’t smile or say hi (exercising is good “me” time) but it was so warming and inspiring to have someone interact with me in such a real way. It wasn’t a mindless hello, it was a “hey girl, you totally rock!” and it made me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, gist of that ramble: look for the beautiful acts that are going on around you, and be sure to throw some out into the universe yourself from time to time.

This weekend I have a lot of fun, low-key things going on. I’m going to take a stab at making homemade mint lemonade for friends who are coming over to see the new apartment before we go out for dinner. There are a handful of cute local festivals going on that I’d like to try and visit, and of course I’ve got to fit in a long 12-mile run (exactly one month until my half marathon!). Lastly, I’m going up north to visit my family on Sunday which I am super excited about. What do you have going on this weekend?

Here’s a bonus fall nail pic! I painted these puppies last night with Deborah Lippmann’s Dance Music Set, which consists of “Single Ladies” and “Glitter and be Gay.”

I love that Crabtree & Evelyn avocado lotion almost as much as I love my nails right now.
I love that Crabtree & Evelyn avocado lotion almost as much as I love my nails right now.
deborahlippmann
Deborah Lippmann Dance Music set.

Have a good weekend and remember to embrace those Little Things! ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things

  1. Funny because I thought the same thing about that guy later in the day, which is pretty much what led me to buy someone else’s coffee this morning ๐Ÿ™‚ Genuinely nice people are the greatest, like you!

    P.S.
    I totally thought you were going to write about our Target incidents LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just checked your blog out too, and followed you back ๐Ÿ™‚ Yours looks really good, too! I love your Guilty Pleasures category.

      Like

  2. This is a lovely post. I’m B.G. by the way and am the one who wrote the post you commented on on seeds4life.

    I love your nails! I’m so jealous that you were able to paint them so well! I actually thought they might be Jamberry Nails since they look so perfect. By the way, I think it’s great that you wrote about the small things that brightened up your day. You should check out Sandy’s ‘Grains of Sand’ project on her blog Sandycademy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

