Happy 1st Day of Fall!

Today is basically a holiday to me. Fall is my favorite season, and while I feel like such a stereotypical valley girl when I say that, it’s true and I have no shame. I love crisp weather, foliage, sweaters, boots and of course, pumpkin spice anything.

IMG_6289

Anyways, fall rant aside, I hope the first half of your week has been great. Yesterday I unexpectedly got to meet a colleague from Dallas who I’ve never met in real life (despite speaking daily for nearly two years). It was such a fun and pleasant surprise! A group of us ate dinner at Steakhouse 85 in New Brunswick and it was nothing short of fancy and delicious. I ordered the Cowboy Ribeye, and we all split calamari, applewood smoked bacon, truffled tater tots, sautéed asparagus, creamed corn with bacon, and several desserts. It was all tasty, but oh my God, that creamed corn with bacon was killer. I definitely need to take a stab at cooking it myself sometime.

Cowboy Ribeye at Steakhouse 85.
Cowboy Ribeye at Steakhouse 85.
Assorted desserts at Steakhouse 85.
Peanut Butter Chocolate Mousse Cake, Amaretto Creme Brulee and Mascarpone Cheesecake at Steakhouse 85.

Something that has been weighing on my mind this week is the Volkswagen scandal. If you keep up with the news, you’ve probably heard that VW was caught evading federal emission laws for nearly 6 years by way of a sneaky software called a “defeat device.” Basically, they installed a mechanism on 11 million diesel vehicles that sensed when the car was being tested by authorities and turned on all emission controls, making the car appear to be very efficient. But then, afterward, those controls would turn off and the cars would pollute nearly 40 times the legal amount of nitrogen oxide, which is bad for both us and the environment. When you boil it down, VW rigged the cars so that they appeared to be efficient and when consumers drove them, they were pleasantly surprised by the car’s high performance. As an avid VW fan (I own a Golf, used to own a Beetle and attend VW shows on a semi-regular basis), it’s taken me a few days to collect my thoughts, but here they are:

  • DISAPPOINTED – I am disappointed. The brand that I was loyal to for so long now has me questioning that loyalty. Don’t get me wrong, I love the VW community, but I’m not sure if I can stand behind VW as a brand again until they really prove that they’ve become honest. I’m not sure what that will take, and until all the details of the scandal come to light, it’s hard to determine if I will continue to stand behind them in the future. It wouldn’t make sense to stand behind a company that is ok with deceiving their consumers, polluting the environment and sickening the world… all for prettier sales numbers.
  • CONFUSED – How did they get away with this on this large of a scale, for so long? Who was involved? Who originally thought of this idea? Did the CEO know? These are only the beginning of the questions I have.
  • CURIOUS – What other companies (auto and non-auto) are deceiving the public? How many lies are flourishing right beneath our noses?

What are your thoughts on the scandal (particularly if you own a VW)?

Anyways, on a lighter note, today looks like a gorgeous day and I am aiming to run 12 miles after work (lofty goal, but after slacking a little bit this weekend, I gotta get out there!)

Have a lovely rest of your week!

One thought on “Happy 1st Day of Fall!

Leave a Reply

