Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

Happy Monday. I hope you had a great weekend! One of my best friends from State College, Monica, came to visit and a big group of us had a barbecue at the apartment. We played hacky sack (throwback!) and grilled outside, and even caught a glimpse of a beautiful rainbow in the sky (I will post pictures another time, I still need to upload them from my camera). I had a couple drinks too many – I am seriously getting too old for that crap – but all-in-all it was a fun day. Sunday was spent relaxing, grocery shopping, and eating pho and frozen yogurt. Not a bad weekend, but I’m looking forward to one that has less drinking and more running (next weekend, I’m looking at you!)

Anywho, here are my three favorite things from last week:

  1. PUMPKIN SPICE PANCAKES – Saturday morning I took a stab at making pumpkin spice pancakes from scratch. They turned out very well, if I do say so myself. Here is the recipe, and of course, pictures!

    FullSizeRender(7)
    Heck. Yes.

Serves: Approximately 3-5 (depending on how many pancakes you can handle!)

Total Time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups unsweetened almond milk (you can use regular milk too, but this is what I had on hand. Dairy makes me break out like nobody’s business)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (I used the canned stuff found in the baking aisle)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons white distilled vinegar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground allspice
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Supplies:

  • Large frying pan
  • Large mixing bowl
  • Medium mixing bowl
  • Whisk
  • Large spoon for scooping batter
  • Spatula
  • Nonstick spray

Instructions:

  1. In large mixing bowl, whisk together the almond milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vinegar.
  2. Mix the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, cinnamon, ginger and salt in separate medium bowl.
  3. Stir dry mixture into the liquid mixture.
  4. Using your nonstick spray, lightly coat your frying pan and put it on the stove over medium high heat.
  5. Scoop the batter onto the pan (make whatever size pancakes you want. I prefer to make a few small ones to do a mandatory taste test 🙂 )
  6. Brown pancakes on both sides and serve hot.

Note: I served these pancakes with a side of Banquet Brown N’ Serve Hot & Spicy Sausage Links, as well as the usual butter and maple syrup. Whether you want sides or not is up to you, but the sausage was tasty!

Whisk away!
Whisk away!
I'm not about that uniformly sized pancake lyfe.
I’m clearly not about that uniformly sized pancake lyfe.
  1. NOT YOUR MOTHER’S DRY SHAMPOO – Lately I’ve been making this dry shampoo a part of my daily hair routine and am loving it for a few reasons:
    • I’m prone to dead/dry/split ends and now thanks to dry shampoo, I wash my hair less which helps keep it healthy. You don’t realize how much regular washing dries your hair out until you stop doing it.
    • Not traditionally washing my hair has actually made it less greasy. I used to only be able to go a day or two without washing, but now I can go three or four.
    • You really stretch out the life of your traditional shampoo and conditioner. Yeah, dry shampoo is one more thing you have to buy, but I still think I’m paying less in the end. Plus if you find a good deal on it, that helps even more (I would actually suggest NOT buying it on Amazon… I paid under $5 at Target, versus the current $8.55+ on Amazon).
  2. BREAKING IN MY BABIES – Not sure if this counts since I haven’t actually done it yet, but today I am going for my first run in my new Asics! Not much to report yet… but I’m excited!

What did you do this weekend? Do you have any cozy, fall recipes (breakfast or not!) that you’d recommend?

Have a good week!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

  1. Oh man, this might have sold me on dry shampoo. Everyone is using it now and I’m terrified of looking greasy but everyone swears by it, and now that I have a brand name I might just go with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely try it out! My hair used to get so gross so quickly and I didn’t think dry shampoo would work for me but it turns out it’s a godsend. Batiste is also a good brand, although I think you get a little more bang for your buck with Not Your Mother’s. Those are definitely my two favorites though… I tried one by Dove and another brand (I forget which) and they just didn’t work as well and left a ton of white residue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

