Sand Castle Winery and Other Recent Adventures

Hello and Happy Tuesday! I hope you had a good weekend and hope your fresh new week is off to a good start.

This weekend Lawrence and I visited Sand Castle Winery in Erwinna, PA. I purchased a Groupon for a tour, tasting and snack platter at Sand Castle and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. Sometimes it’s hard to tell what you’re getting yourself into with Groupons.

Shortly after we arrived we were taken on a tour of the outdoor facilities, where we learned about how the grapes grow, and the wine cellar, where we learned about the fermentation process. I have to say, I learned A LOT. Like, did you know grapes are typically grown in a north-to-south direction (versus east-to-west) to capitalize on sunlight? We also learned that wine evaporates while being stored in barrels, so each one needs to be topped off from time to time. Who knew!?

Sand Castle Winery's wine cellar.
Sand Castle’s wine cellar.

After the tour, we were taken to a large room upstairs where we tasted 12 different wines. I liked almost all of them but my favorite was Alpine Spice, a wine that was served warm and tasted like Christmastime in a glass. The tasting was hosted by a man named Joe who you could tell REALLY loved what he did. He had a way of teaching you about wine without making you feel like an idiot. Much appreciated, Joe!

The wines we tasted at Sand Castle.
The wines we tasted at Sand Castle (and Lawrence’s feet).
Mmm!
Joe doin’ his thang.
Joe, myself and Lawrence.
Joe, myself and Lawrence.

After the tasting, we went downstairs and had a meat and cheese platter and purchased three bottles of wine (one of them being Alpine Spice, which we appropriately want to consume on Christmas morning). Next, we headed across the Delaware River to Frenchtown, NJ – arguably one of the cutest, quaintest towns I’ve ever been to.

In Frenchtown, we perused the humble local shops and ate lunch at the Bridge Café which is situated next to the bridge that runs over the Delaware River and connects New Jersey and Pennsylvania. I ordered quiche and a cup of clam chowder and Lawrence ordered a burger and fries. Everything was delicious and we even got some bonus magic tricks from our waiter.

The Bridge Café!
The Bridge Café!
My quiche and clam chowder ... delicious!
My “Quiche of the Day” and clam chowder … delicious!

This weekend we also attended a cousin/friend’s baby shower and went to one final birthday dinner for Lawrence with his mom, aunt and brother. I also signed up for the Somerset 5K Turkey Trot on November 14 which I’m going to start doing some speed training for. Now that I’ve conquered the longer half-marathon distance, I feel like I’m ready to start getting faster at shorter races. Now I just need that bruised toe to heal … in the meantime, here are some inspirational words to get me (and perhaps you) goin’ again:

“Running is a road to self-awareness and reliance – you can push yourself to extremes and learn the harsh reality of your physical and mental limitations or coast quietly down a solitary path watching the earth spin beneath your feet.” – Doris Brown Heritage

One thought on “Sand Castle Winery and Other Recent Adventures

Leave a Reply

