Race Recap: Somerset 5K Turkey Trot

Happy Saturday!

This post is going to be short since I am surprisingly tired right now – OK, it’s not that surprising since I got up super early this morning for the Somerset 5K Turkey Trot.

The Turkey Trot today was my second 5K and my third race overall. Although I’ve been running since 2011, I didn’t participate in official races until this year. I’ve only ran three, but I have to admit races are addicting and beneficial to who I am as a person and a runner. While I’m not competitive with others, I am competitive with myself and I find that signing up for races pushes me to continue training and reaching for goals that I may have procrastinated on if left to my own devices. I can almost guarantee I wouldn’t have ran a half-marathon distance last month if I didn’t make myself sign up for that race. Sure, I would have ran those 13 miles, but I bet it would have taken me longer to do so.

Anyways, here’s a quick summary of today’s race:

  • I ran the race with my friends/coworkers Kevin and Taryn.
  • Sparkee, the Somerset Patriots mascot, was also in attendance.
  • I finished in 30:07, an average pace of 9:42. I ran a bit slower than my first 5K, partly because…
  • …I thought I had an accident. I stopped about a half mile into the race because as my body began to sweat and regain feeling (it was cold and I was numb before we started), I had the sensation that I soiled my pants. After having a mild freak out for a minute or so on the side of the road, I decided to keep on truckin’. I knew I’d be mad at myself if I quit, especially since I wasn’t 100% sure I had an accident. Even if I did have an oopsies, we (thank GOD) got free huge T-shirts that covered the possibly affected area. So I carried on, pulling the shirt down past my crotch every second I could. Right after I crossed the finish line I headed to the bathroom where I discovered that I indeed did NOT soil myself. Small victories, people… small victories.
  • I had Panera’s broccoli cheddar soup afterwards and it was comforting and delicious!
2015 Turkey Trot
Taryn, Sparkee. myself and Kevin!

That’s all! Have a great night!

4 thoughts on “Race Recap: Somerset 5K Turkey Trot

  1. Races are definitely addicting. I am having to control myself in how many I sign up for it how many I let my kids sign up for. Great job on your race and keep it up til the next one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

