Life Lesson: Always Read the Directions

Last night I experienced possibly the worst baking fail of my life.

I was baking a cake for my friend/coworker, Travis. Travis set me up with Lawrence and is one of my best friends so I was hoping to make a cake that really showed how much he means to me, Lawrence and the rest of the gang.

I failed.

Don’t get me wrong, everything started off swimmingly. I followed the ingredient list to a T – I know you can’t play around with ingredients when you’re baking like you can when you’re cooking. I, however, didn’t know enough to read the other directions that clearly specified to double the recipe if you’re using a 9 x 13 baking dish. No siree! As I poured the batter – which was delicious, I might add – into the pan, I thought it looked a little sparse but I held onto a grain of blind optimism that told me it would rise all the way to the brim of the pan. I can bake muffins, I can bake apple crisp, I can bake cookies,  I can (usually) bake cupcakes. There’s no way this could be that bad. Everything always turns out OK in the end… right? Right.

I was wrong.

What I ended up with was a very flat sheet of cake that had the consistency of a cake pop. I contemplated frosting it and serving it even though it sat super low in the pan, then decided against that. I ran out of ingredients and it was too late to go to the store, so as a last resort I hacked the cake up into four rectangles and made it into a shoddy layer cake. I busted open some suspiciously hot pink Pillsbury funfetti frosting and used it like concrete on my cake-bricks. IMG_6664

This is the result:IMG_6660

So, people… always read the directions. Make sure the amount of batter you have matches what size pan you have. Let the this horrid, hilarious pink brick serve as a reminder to stop and smell the roses… and read the directions.

Note: I followed Sally’s Baking Addiction’s Easy Homemade Funfetti Cake recipe, which was easy-to-follow and yielded some seriously delicious cake! It’s not Sally’s fault I had a brain fart, so if you’re in the market for baking a funfetti cake and want something a little more hands-on than a boxed mix, I strongly recommend this recipe!

One thought on “Life Lesson: Always Read the Directions

Leave a Reply

