Monday Mantra #5

Happy Monday!

This week is Christmas, somehow. This year really did fly by and it doesn’t even feel like Christmas – it’s supposed to be 75 degrees here on Christmas Eve! Not exactly winter wonderland weather, but I’m certainly not complaining…

I’ve been running around (physically and mentally) trying to get all my gifts in order. Next year I really have to try to get gifts started (and finished) earlier. Luckily I’m not going to be seeing my friends in Pennsylvania until sometime in mid-January, so I can put those gifts on the back burner and focus on readying things for the people I will see this week. I also have some things I need to ship to my family members that live farther away. I might have to make a cup of coffee tonight to make it through!

So, this week’s Monday Mantra has to do with my love for setting goals (look out for a future post on this) and my love for running. Thanks to both a simmering love for running and a sudden lightning bolt of courage, I’ve decided to train for and run my first marathon next year.  I’m currently eyeballing the Philadelphia Marathon in November… it’s flat, cool and close-to-home. I haven’t signed up yet but I feel such excitement thinking about it that I know I have to do it. As my friend Jen told me, “you know what you need to do.”

Running a full marathon (especially in less than a year) is outside of my comfort zone, but you know what, so was running a half-marathon when I first signed up for it. But signing up and etching that commitment into stone motivated me to train and I surpassed my expectations with flying colors. I know I can do this, and I am going to do this (especially now that it’s broadcast on the Internet, haha). With that being said, here is today’s Monday Mantra:

A.A. Milne(7).jpg

if it doesn't challenge you, it won't change you..jpg

Have a great week, and Merry Christmas!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Monday Mantra #5

Leave a Reply

