2015 Reflections and 2016 Goals

Happy New Year!

I want to start off by saying that I am a firm believer in making your goals happen today, right now, versus waiting for a New Year to begin your journey of growth. However, the New Year serves as a great reference point to reflect on your accomplishments from the past 12 months and ponder what you want to accomplish this time next year. Use the New Year as a time to reflect and project, but don’t be afraid to start working on yourself any other day of the year!what-keeps-me-going-is-goals-quote-1

Over the past couple of months I have been compiling a list of goals I have for 2016. This is my second annual goal list; the first one I made was for 2015. I’m a goal-oriented person and have a serious fondness for making lists, filling in my planner and scheduling things on the whiteboard calendar on our fridge, so it should come as no surprise that I have been loving these annual lists. It’s easy to skim over life day-by-day, but giving yourself a concrete set of goals holds you accountable and also gives you a chance to reflect and give yourself credit for what you maybe didn’t even realize you accomplished. Plus, it feels so good to cross things off!

I try to make my list really cover it all. I have goals that are easily measured (run a half marathon) and I have goals that are a little harder to quantify (find beauty in the details). I write the bulk of the list before the New Year begins, but I also add things throughout the year as I think of them.

Random craft rant/idea: On Facebook I saw that a friend made a really cute journal page of “2015 blessings” and now I can’t stop thinking about how cool it would be to have an art journal strictly for lists of annual blessings. Wouldn’t that be an awesome way to look back and reflect on all the years? I know for me they tend to all blur together, and that would be such an easy, go-to place to review everything you’ve done. Might have to hit up Michaels and start that tradition this weekend…

Anyways, without further ado, here is my 2015 Goal List and my fresh, brand-spankin’-new 2016 Goal List:

2015 GOALS

  • Travel somewhere completely new – Complete! I traveled to Costa Rica, the Tampa area to visit my dad and Houston to visit Lawrence’s dad.
  • Find a freelancing opportunity  – Still in progress. 2016, get ready for this one.
  • Keep a journal –  Complete! I started writing this blog, and I also have a daily journal where I jot down three things that happened that day. I also REALLY want to start that annual art journal.
  • Explore drawing and painting more – Guilty of not really drawing and painting, but I HAVE done a lot more crafting.
  • Train for and run a half marathon  – Complete! Definitely one of my top 3 favorite experiences of the year.
  • Volunteer – I didn’t volunteer but I did donate to charity. Gotta get on this one this year…
  • Go to yoga classes – Same as above!
  • Read at least one book a month – So far, so good!
  • Take Miko on walks once he is big enough for a harness 🙂 – Complete…failure. This one was not the best idea, haha.
  • Cook something new – I cooked so many new things (most of which were written about on the blog)!
  • Find beauty in the details – A daily work in progress. I occasionally experience anxiety (so much fun) but every day is a new day and every day is a new opportunity to find the beauty in the world around you.
  • Disconnect from the details daily, too – Work in progress, as well!
  • Visit Dad in Florida – Complete!
  • Send birthday cards – Complete! This one took the most discipline. I had to really keep track of people’s birthdays and remember to send out cards a little bit before them. Definitely worth it though! Who doesn’t love getting some fun snail mail?

2016 GOALS

  • Run a full marathon (Philly!?) and two other races, as well
  • Go to yoga classes
  • Work on strength training
  • Wake up earlier – jog, stretch, meditate in mornings (kiss frantically rushing to work goodbye)
  • Go on a road trip to Charleston
  • Visit Dad and Lucy in Florida
  • Volunteer (food bank, senior center, animal shelter) and donate to charities
  • Read at least one book every month
  • Send birthday cards
  • Continue working on freelancing and blogging
  • Get my car door fixed
  • Find new eye doctor and dentist
  • Find a primary physician and get physicals every year
  • Carve pumpkins for Halloween
  • Have a Friendsgiving
  • Write down 3 good things that happened each day
  • Don’t get ahead of myself – take it day by day, moment by moment
  • Keep an open mind

 

Do you keep a list of annual goals?

2 thoughts on “2015 Reflections and 2016 Goals

Leave a Reply

