Monday Mantra #7 and Catch Up

Hello! Happy Monday, and Happy February!

So, it’s been two weeks since I last posted. My bad. I meant to post last week but got a little busy and it just didn’t happen. I assure you some exciting things did happen last week, but first it’s time for … drum roll, please

A.A. Milne

1f96fefbdff05d9cfbb458b22f908622.jpg

loooooove this quote. I’ve heard it before, but last week a college friend shared it on Facebook and it’s been stuck in my mind ever since. There are a whole lot of things I love about myself but let’s be real, there are some things I need to improve. Most of the time I am patient and kind but other times I can (too easily) lose my patience and get snappy and down on myself. No one is perfect all the time, but in those moments when I get moody, I hope to gain a better grasp on my emotions before I let them get the best of me … and I think the best way to do that is to feed the Good wolf in my soul.

So, anyways, back to last week. It was an exciting one! Here’s what happened:

  • Essential Oil Diffuser – After reading about essential oil diffusers on various blogs and hearing good things about them from a coworker, I bit the bullet and got a diffuser, starter oil kit and aromatherapy book on Amazon. I’m still reading up on essential oils, but so far I’ve read about (and witnessed) how natural, useful, calming and rejuvenating they are. Seriously, nothing wakes me up more than a good lemon peppermint blend and nothing relaxes me more than some lavender floating around the apartment. Not to mention, they are a cleaner and safer alternative to candles. I am still a rookie and still have so much more to learn. The aromatherapy world is my oyster. I’m obsessed.
  • Volunteering – I don’t want to spill the beans too much on this one just yet, but I have an exciting volunteering opportunity on the horizon that blends my love for animals and my love for marketing and writing! The planets have aligned! 🙂
  • Chocolate, Wine and BBQ – On Saturday, Lawrence and I visited a Chocolate and Wine event in West Long Branch with our friends, Steve and Lauren. We sampled many delicious sweets, wines and even jerky and I managed to score a really unique necklace made from old watch parts for only $25! If you’re interested in a watchpart necklace, let me know and I can give you the artist’s email address (she does custom orders, too.) After the event, we dropped by Local Smoke BBQ in Neptune City to grab a bite. I ordered fried pickles, a pulled pork sandwich and everything was delicious. The pickles were particularly tasty – it was my first time having them and I was not let down. Briny, delicious pickles in a crispy deep fried batter? YISS PLEASE! Plus, this place has an awesome back story: it started as a local BBQ competition team, then went on to win over 100 awards across the country including 1st place in Ribs against 488 other teams. You wouldn’t guess Jersey would have good BBQ, but it does and this is where it’s at.12565641_10154062691637044_159770523768054723_n.jpg
  • Baptism and Beer – Sunday we attended Lawrence’s cousin’s son’s baptism (is there a name for a cousin’s son!?) in Jersey City. The baby is such a cutie and somehow managed to not cry or fuss at all during the ceremony, even with oil and water on his head. He’s a trooper. Afterwards, the reception was held at Zeppelin Hall Biergarten because what better way to celebrate a baptism than with beer? I got a Yards Chocolate Love Stout and while we just had a catered buffet table with a standard (but delicious) chicken/pasta/finger food spread, I want to return to Zeppelin Hall sometime to eat their German food. There is almost nothing I wouldn’t do for some sauerkraut, bratwursts, red cabbage and German potato salad. Good thing Lawrence is making sauerkraut and pork for dinner tonight – I’m a lucky girl 🙂

Well, that is all for now — have a wonderful week and don’t forget to feed the Good!

Leave a Reply

