Monday Mantra #10 and 3-Ingredient Frozen Yogurt Pie

I have been the absolute worst at keeping up with blogging lately – my bad! Between a friend’s bachelorette party, my volunteer work, a wedding, and various Easter and birthday celebrations, I’ve been busy to say the least. I’m going to do a better job at keeping up though, I promise.

Anyways, what’s new? I guess I summarized it above, but I’ll go into more detail. Two weeks ago I went to my childhood best friend’s bachelorette party in New York City. It was a blast; we ate a delicious Mexican dinner at Dos Caminos, visited a strip club (not particularly my scene but it was entertaining) and ate brunch at the Hudson Diner the next morning. The party was fun but I think the best part was realizing that we’ve been friends for nearly 20 years – we’ve journeyed from jungle gym adventures to wedding adventures together. Somewhere along the way we became adults.

Volunteer-wise, I’ve been really drilling into marketing efforts for a local animal rescue society. So far I’ve compiled outreach guidelines, a marketing plan, a Google Analytics report and various blog post ideas, and I’m excited to see what lies ahead.

Last weekend Lawrence and I attended his cousin’s wedding. One word comes to mind when I think back on that wedding: theatrical. The couple got engaged on a Disney cruise and they certainly let that animated love flow over to the wedding. They had a horse and carriage (complete with a glass slipper), had their first dance in what appeared to be a cloud thanks to a fog machine, and a magical blue and purple ambiance set the tone for the entire evening. All in all, it was a whimsical night that really reflected on the fun, youthful people I’ve come to know both the bride and groom to be.

Let’s not forget Easter. Despite a rocky morning yesterday (we slept through my alarm which was completely my fault) we made it up to Northern Jersey to visit my family and then back down to Central Jersey to visit Lawrence’s. (Side note: Easter was my favorite holiday growing up because my dad would create a treasure hunt complete with handcrafted clues that would lead me and my sister around our entire house and yard searching for an exciting treat that always waited at the end. I also love ham and eggs … even more so than I love candy.) I brought along a 3-Ingredient Frozen Yogurt Pie to both houses, which is so delicious, cheap and easy that I have to share the recipe with you:

3-Ingredient.jpg

Serves: 6-8

Time: 2 hours, 10 minutes (10 minutes prep time, 2 hours freeze time)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (8 oz.) container Cool Whip topping
  • 2 (6 oz.) individual yogurts, your choice of flavor
  • 1 pre-made pie crust (I used a graham cracker crust)
  • Optional: toppings of your choice (I used M&Ms to make a flower design, but you can use fresh fruit, candy, sprinkles or whatever your heart desires)

Supplies:

  • Large bowl
  • Spatula

Instructions:

  • Combine Cool Whip and yogurt in large bowl. Fold together with spatula until evenly mixed.
  • Pour into pie crust.
  • Assemble toppings on pie as desired.
  • Freeze for at least 2 hours, then enjoy! Note: If you like your pie softer, thaw in refrigerator for 1 or 2 hours before serving.

And last but not least … this week’s Monday Mantra! (This post is an unorganized hot mess. My apologies.)

A.A. MilneThis mantra is something I am constantly try to remind myself both at work and at home: don’t forget how important each small step is. Sometimes you have to take your mind off “the big picture” because if you focus too much on a big, dramatic outcome, you get overwhelmed and feel less compelled to take small steps … but those small steps add up to become that grand finale you want. Don’t expect a lot from yourself – expect a little on a regular basis.

1437438422281
Credit: TheDailyQuotes.com
One thought on “Monday Mantra #10 and 3-Ingredient Frozen Yogurt Pie

Leave a Reply

