How To: DIY Winnie the Pooh Centerpieces

Happy Monday! In lieu of a Monday Mantra, this week I have for you a fun, DIY craft!

So, I don’t know about you, but it seems like everyone I know is pregnant right now (Jen and Urvi, I am looking at you).

Besides getting the privilege to meet a ton of cute babies in the coming months, I also get to attend a lot of baby showers – I even had the pleasure of helping plan Urvi’s! To help out, I decided to take on the task of making centerpieces for each of the eight tables.

Urvi loves Winnie the Pooh and decided that would be her shower theme, so I did some research and found the cutest idea for Pooh-themed “hunny” pot centerpieces on Yolieville.

I did a couple of things different than Yolieville, but regardless it was still a cheap, fairly easy craft to throw together! I’m also fairly certain it’s cheaper to make these than buy them online, and it feels extra special to personally creating something for a friend’s special day.

Here’s how I did it, how it turned out and roughly how much I spent on everything:

DIY.jpg

Supplies:

  • 8 clay pots
  • Yellow paint
  • Black paint
  • Paint brushes (I used a kiddie pack … way cheaper and did the job just fine. Just make sure you have a wide brush to paint the “honey” and a narrow brush to paint the letters)
  • 1 piece of white foam board
  • 1 pack of googly eyes
  • A black, yellow and blue Sharpie
  • 1 pack of tissue paper
  • 8 gift/treat baggies
  • 1 container of yellow ribbon
  • 1 box of Honeycomb cereal
  • 1 box of Teddy Grahams
  • 8 customized, printed tags
  • Hole puncher
  • Hot glue gun

Estimated Cost: $38.00

Estimated Time: I got lucky and my friend Jen and her son helped make the foam board bees, but I would say in total it took us 6 hours.

Instructions:

  • Paint the yellow “honey” around the rim of the pot with a wide paint brush. I also painted the inside lip. Let dry.
  • Paint the word “HUNNY” in the front, center of the pot with a thinner brush. Let dry. (It’s more than OK to make these letters kind of messy. Messy and narrow was the way I thought they looked best. Thicker, more uniform letters didn’t look quite as good).
  • Paint extra customized words on the back, bottom center of the pot, if desired. (I wrote “Baby -Last Name-, 2016”) Let dry.
  • Draw 8 bees on foam board using the Sharpies, glue on the googly eyes, and cut out (if you’re lucky,  your amazing friends will help you out!)
  • Hot glue a bee on to the top, outer rim of each pot.
  • Create customized tags to hang on the goodie bags (I used Canva.com to do this and printed them out myself).
  • Cut the tags out, and hole punch each tag.
  • Fill 8 goodie bags with a mixture of Honeycomb cereal and Teddy Grahams. Slide one tag on each piece of yellow ribbon, and then use the ribbon to tie the goodie bag shut.
  • Stuff one piece of tissue paper into the bottom of each pot. Place goodie bag on top of paper.
  • Blow your friends’ minds with these cute, customized homemade hunny pots.
IMG_8051
A swarm of cute little centerpieces!
FullSizeRender (2)
The centerpieces in action! We also tied some ribbon around the little honey/jam pots.
FullSizeRender (1)
Bonus pic of my delish Indian food.

Do you have any favorite DIY party decor? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “How To: DIY Winnie the Pooh Centerpieces

Leave a Reply

