Blueberry Crumb Bars

Happy Monday! I’ve been pretty bad at this blogging thing – it’s been three weeks to the day since I posted and for that I must apologize! Things have been pretty crazy here between my friend’s wedding two weekends ago, Lawrence having a bit of a job issue for the past month and a half, and preparing to go visit my dad in the Sunshine State this weekend.

But … what better way to apologize than with sweets?

Today I have for you a Blueberry Crumb Bar recipe which I found on Brown Eyed Baker and recreated on Saturday for my friend’s wife’s graduation party (that’s a mouthful). The bars were more or less a hit, but I couldn’t help but feel like they were missing something. I think if I made these again I would probably add a teensy bit more sugar to the blueberry filling, but that’s certainly not necessary. I also want to top these with oat crumble topping (the same topping I put on my apple crisp) … but that is a future blog post. 🙂

Enough babbling, on to the good stuff:

IMG_5379

Serves: 20-24 bars

Time:1 hour, 15 minutes (20 minutes prep time, 55 minutes bake time)

Ingredients:

Crumb Topping

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (pro tip: don’t run out of sugar halfway through the recipe and have to drive to Walgreens like I did!)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1 egg

Blueberry Filling

  • 4 cups fresh blueberries (hit up a local farmer’s market if you have one … your wallet will thank you)
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 4 teaspoons cornstarch
  • Juice of one lemon

Supplies:

  • 9×13 inch baking pan
  • One medium bowl
  • One large bowl
  • Cooking spray/butter/Crisco (something to grease your baking pan with!)

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.
  • For the crumb: In your medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Use a fork to blend in the butter, and then the egg (the dough will be crumbly). Press half of dough into the prepared pan.
  • For the blueberry filling: In a separate large bowl, whisk together the sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice. Gently fold in the blueberries to coat evenly with the sugar mixture. Spread the blueberry mixture evenly over the crust, drizzling any excess juice in the bowl over the filling. Crumble the remaining dough evenly over the blueberry layer.
  • Bake for 50 or so minutes, or until the top is light golden brown (I baked mine for 55 minutes to get a nice golden crust). Cool completely before cutting into squares.
  • Pig out and feel somewhat ok about it because blueberries.
IMG_5376.jpg
Crumb lyfe.
Leave a Reply

