Greek Yogurt Red Potato Salad and a Quick Word of Wisdom

Happy Wednesday!

This past weekend was the long (hallelujah) Fourth of July weekend, which of course I celebrated by eating entirely too much delicious grilled food. Along with the hamburgers and hot dogs, I also shoved some Greek Yogurt Red Potato Salad down my gullet. This recipe, which I adapted from Table for Two, has been one of my favorites for years now and I think you’ll enjoy it too!

Here are a few reasons why it totally kicks booty:

  • Reason 1: I HATE mayonnaise, so using Greek yogurt is tastier … to me, anyways.
  • Reason 2: It’s healthier, too … win-win!
  • Reason 3: It’s cheap and easy!

I prefer my potato salad skin-on, with lots of dill, celery and hardboiled eggs, but feel free to adapt this recipe any way you like. Enjoy!

Greek Yogurt Red Potato Salad.jpg

Serves: 8-10

Time: 30 minutes (10 minutes prep time, 20 minutes cook time)

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 pounds red potatoes, skin-on, cut into ¾ inch cubes
  • 1 cup (two individual, single-serve containers) of plain Greek yogurt
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon whole grain Dijon mustard
  • 4 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • Handful of dill (I used one of those little individual packages of it)
  • 5 hardboiled eggs, sliced (here are some instructions on how to hardboil eggs)
  • Paprika, chives, salt and pepper to taste

Supplies:

  • Large bowl
  • Large pot to boil potatoes
  • Small/medium pot to boil eggs

Instructions:

  • Add potatoes and cover with cold water in small/medium pot. Simmer on medium until potatoes are tender. Drain and rinse potatoes with cool water. Set aside.
  • In large bowl, combine yogurt, both mustards, dill, green onions, salt and pepper. Mix well.
  • Add potatoes to the mixture and toss until evenly coated.
  • Top with sliced eggs, then sprinkle chives, paprika and pepper on top.
  • Store in fridge until ready to serve. Serve chilled.

To end things on a random, upbeat note, I am tossing in a phrase that Thomas Jefferson wrote to John Adams back in the day (to make this seem a little less random, I did hear this on the Happier podcast yesterday … not that I need to justify some old school presidential goodness).

“How much pain have cost us the evils which have never happened?”

If you’re like me (and apparently our founding fathers), sometimes you get caught up in the scary, horrible “what ifs” of life. This happens to me far more than I like to admit, but I work on it every day and when I heard this quote on Happier yesterday, it really struck a chord. Most of the fear and pain in life is over things that don’t actually exist … and if that’s not motivation to live in the present and enjoy what you really got goin’ on in your life, then I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

