No, not FOMO … GOMO!

So, I’m pretty sure we’ve all heard of FOMO, or the Fear of Missing Out. You know the feeling: your friends are all at a concert, you’re at home and even though don’t really like the band they’re seeing, you feel left out.

None of us are perfect. I still get hit by FOMO sometimes, but I think even more important thank FOMO is GOMO – or Going Out More Often. I learned about GOMO during a recent collaboration with Eventbrite, the world’s largest self-service ticketing platform, and I have to say I love the message it sends: instead of feeling left out, get out! Rather than sit on the couch and live vicariously through characters on a television screen, get out there and live for yourself!

EB-GOMO.jpg

To be honest, it’s really not hard to get out. Sometimes new, cool places are right around the corner. I strive to build a variety of fun activities into my weekends – and even weeknights! This Thursday I attended my company’s book club for the first time and last night Lawrence and I went on a double date with our friends Lauren and Steve. Our date spot? A funky little joint in New Brunswick called Destination Dogs that puts a global, gourmet twist on good ol’ hot dogs. I mean just check out my gourmet German hot dog, appropriately dubbed “Guten Dog.” Trust me, it sure beat sitting at home on the sofa. Plus at $5.50 (plus the cost of two beers) it really isn’t even pricey to get out and have fun!

FullSizeRender (17).jpg

FullSizeRender (19)
The “Guten Dog,” complete with sauerkraut, sautéed onions and spicy brown mustard. Mmm!

 

FullSizeRender (18)
So many dogs, so little time!

 

So long story short, it’s so worth ripping the Band-Aid and getting out there to try something new. I ventured to two new places this week and transformed an average, ho-hum week into a vibrant week full of memories.

If you’re looking to find and sign up for events in your area, be sure to check out Eventbrite’s online reservation webpage. From music festivals to marathons, Eventbrite provides easy access to events no matter what you like! Get out there, have fun and live life!

Disclaimer: While I collaborated with Eventbrite for this post, this is not a sponsored post.

One thought on “No, not FOMO … GOMO!

Leave a Reply

