Monday Mantra #18 – Mindfulness

Hello! Happy Monday!

I apologize for not posting last week – I’ve been busy! Here is a quick summary of what’s new:

  • Training: With less than two months until our half marathon, Lawrence and I have been training our butts off for the race. Yesterday we ran five miles, and those long weekend runs will just keep getting longer until race day. I’m still amazed at how much you can train your body to do (and how quickly you can lose that endurance!)
  • Vacation = Booked! We officially booked our flights and hotels for our trip to Tennessee in October! We will be visiting Nashville and Memphis over the course of five days. I cannot wait! Nashville Oktoberfest, here we come!
  • Labor Day Weekend: Over Labor Day Weekend, Lawrence and I visited Longwood Gardens and followed it up with an early dinner at Kennett Brewing Company and ice cream at the Punk’d Pineapple, all in Kennett Square, PA. Check it out:
  • Weddings Galore: Last night we attended a wedding for one of Lawrence’s college friends, and this Saturday we have a wedding for one of his old coworkers. They say spring and summer are wedding season, but I beg to differ! September is where it’s at this year.
  • My Niece’s 2nd Birthday Party: This past Saturday we celebrated my niece’s second birthday! I can’t believe she’s already a toddler, I feel like it was just yesterday when we got the phone call that she was born.

And now for this week’s Monday Mantra:

A.A. Milne(7).jpg

“The best way to capture moments is to pay attention. This is how we cultivate mindfulness. Mindfulness means being awake. It means knowing what you are doing.”.jpg

I am not even finished reading “Wherever You Go, There You Are” and I’ve already fell in love with so many of its quotes. This one in particular stood out to me.

If I just go about my day without consciously paying attention to its details, I feel disappointed and feel as though “I let the day get away.” I’ve discovered, through both this book and beginning to meditate (I am a total rookie), that just stopping and taking a look around you at various times during the day can help this. You’ll feel like you’re REALLY living. For me, it can be as simple as noticing a few smells, sights, textures and sounds around me. Doing this just takes a few seconds and it connects you to the present moment that you’re in. Now that I practice this, I realize that previously I would hype up upcoming events in my head, then just sort of coast through them and end up feeling disappointed and even aggravated afterwards. I felt like I let myself down, but in reality I just wasn’t fully present.

As Jon Kabat-Zinn says, “The best way to capture moments is to pay attention.” Preach on, brother. I strive to do that for the rest of my days.

2 thoughts on “Monday Mantra #18 – Mindfulness

Leave a Reply

