Monday Mantra #20 – I Choose Happiness

Hello and Happy Monday!

I hope your weekend was fun and relaxing – mine sure was. My nephew came over for a sleepover and we spent Friday evening and most of Saturday coloring, painting, watching movies and eating kiddie foods (there’s no shame in eating dino nuggets with your 7-year-old nephew, right?) Lawrence and I showed him a lot of “old school cool” stuff like Bob Ross and “The Little Rascals” and he loved both – it just goes to show that the classics can be appreciated by all generations.

Later on I met up with my brother and niece at a country fair which turned out to be a real snoozefest – seriously, it looked like all the vendors had already left! It was bizarre. We really just wanted quality time together though, so we took a long walk and enjoyed every second of it. The perfect fall weather didn’t hurt, either.

Yesterday Lawrence and I ventured to the New York Renaissance Faire with our friends Dane and Christina. It was such a fun time! The Ren Faire is basically a hugeee fake town with all kinds of medieval shops, activities and food. Again, the weather was to die for, and we spent the afternoon checking out what the fair had to offer, from hair braiding and flowery headbands to camel rides and ginormous turkey legs.

14492489_10154744389747044_108857979850376272_n
Us at the Ren Faire!
14446194_10154744389857044_4686069520079100190_n
My turkey haunch. Yes, I ate all of it. #noregrets

After we got home I picked up a copy of “The Kite Runner” that I had on hold at the library and miraculously cranked out six slow but steady miles on the treadmill. It feels so good to be past my cold and able to run again! We’re also officially halfway done with our half marathon training, so that feels good too.

Last but not least, here is this week’s Monday Mantra!

a-a-milne

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how our feelings – and whether we have a good day or bad day – is almost completely in our own hands. We cannot choose what happens to us, but we can choose how we react.

I choose to let go of the negative thoughts that hold me back.

I choose to not make something out of nothing.

I choose to embrace each moment for what it is, without judgement.

I choose to appreciate the good in every situation.

I choose to recognize all of the many ways I am so incredibly lucky.

I choose happiness.

sunday, june 11, 2019palm springs, ca.png

Leave a Reply

