Monday Mantra #25 – Making Decisions

Happy Monday! I can’t believe I am writing my 25th Monday Mantra post, but here we are!

My theme for this week is making decisions. As silly and lighthearted as I can be, I tend to be tough on myself when it comes to making decisions. Until I consciously step in and tell myself the calm the F down, I tend to feel like there’s this one perfect decision and that I need to find it.

But … that’s not how life is.

I had yet another chance to learn this on Saturday when I chose my wedding dress (YAY!). Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my dress, but I didn’t have that Hollywood moment where you slip into it and have tears in your eyes and “just know” that it’s the one.

Honestly when does that ever happen in life? Even when you decide to get married, you don’t “just know” it’s right – you make the choice to get married and choose each other for the rest of your lives. There is no point when you receive a text message  or an email telling you, yep, this is 100% right, time to get married. You evaluate what you want, what your situation is, and choose how to proceed and be confident in that choice.

Anyways, my wedding dress crosses off everything I wanted in a wedding gown: it’s flattering, it’s beautiful, it was more or less on budget. For a moment, a thought flickered through my mind – “What if there’s a better dress out there?” – and you know what? I’m sure there is. But I am choosing to be confident in my decision, because I know that there is no magical “right” dress. My dress has everything I was looking for, I can imagine celebrating our big day in it, and I chose it.

Along with stopping to smell the roses and appreciating what is around you in the here and now, I am confident that a HUGEEE part of happiness is being able to make a conscious decision and confidently roll with it.

If you agree, you’re sure to appreciate this week’s Monday Mantra. Enjoy!

A.A. Milne(6).png

“If you obsess over whether you are making the right decision, you are basically assuming that the universe will reward you for one thing and punish you for another.

The universe has no fixed agenda. Once you make any decision, it works around that decision. There is no right or wrong, only a series of possibilities that shift with each thought, feeling, and action that you experience.”

― Deepak Chopra, The Book of Secrets: Unlocking the Hidden Dimensions of Your Life

15327519_10154976047512044_6394083984242369371_n
Bonus pic of our Christmas tree – and Nashville “star!” 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Mantra #25 – Making Decisions

Leave a Reply

